It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 3:40 am



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 72 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 12:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
abecedarian wrote:
If ... else may go nowhere if none of the conditions are met, just like a switch ... case that doesn't have a case or 'default' to match the switch, I suppose. ;)


an If could, an if/else can't though because there is always something defined.


Quote:
abecedarian wrote:
mk e wrote:
I think I want an array


No, you don't.
Given what you posted, an array of 14 discrete "on / off" values can be represented by an unsigned integer, with each bit representing a function.
Quote:
........
So, no floats involved. ;)


Which is what is uses, UO8, 1 8 bit per link, 4 x 16 = 64 bytes

The values that to with though are floats. the idea is to create 1 array that all 64 possible links use....saving gobs of memory and time.

....at least that's the idea.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:52 am
Posts: 304
Location: Over here, doing 'over here' things.
I'm confused.
If I don't define a 'float' a 'float' shouldn't even be implied as nothing I've suggested uses that.

_________________
/me goes off to the corner feeling like Jerry Springer with a mullet.

My O5E candidate: 1982 Honda CX500TC motorcycle.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 2:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
abecedarian wrote:
I'm confused.
If I don't define a 'float' a 'float' shouldn't even be implied as nothing I've suggested uses that.


The values used are floats, rpm, clt, etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 2:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:52 am
Posts: 304
Location: Over here, doing 'over here' things.
mk e wrote:
abecedarian wrote:
I'm confused.
If I don't define a 'float' a 'float' shouldn't even be implied as nothing I've suggested uses that.


The values used are floats, rpm, clt, etc.

Those are your floats, not mine. ;)

What I did do is reduce an array of ~14-16 integers down to one integer... and probably increase the work needed to incorporate that into TS / tuning INI file. :D

_________________
/me goes off to the corner feeling like Jerry Springer with a mullet.

My O5E candidate: 1982 Honda CX500TC motorcycle.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
Well it compiles now...but does it work I wonder?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 11:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
mk e wrote:
Well it compiles now...but does it work I wonder?


It works a little.


hmmmmmmm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 2:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
mk e wrote:
mk e wrote:
Well it compiles now...but does it work I wonder?


It works a little.


hmmmmmmm



I think the switched ouput control part is working correctly now.

You get up to 4 conditions that can be:

set as and/or

on/off set points can be different to give hysteresis


So you could say have a fan on above 90C but off below 70C OR is on anytime the AC is on.

The TS part is only done for outputs 0-3 (ignition 1-4) so I still have some work to do there.

Also, the part that actually sets up the output is not done.....so I guess that's next.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 2:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
mk e wrote:
mk e wrote:
Well it compiles now...but does it work I wonder?


It works a little.


hmmmmmmm



I think the switched ouput control part is working correctly now. I pushed it up to mark_5634.

You get up to 4 conditions that can be:

set as and/or

on/off set points can be different to give hysteresis


So you could say have a fan on above 90C but off below 70C OR is on anytime the AC is on.

The TS part is only done for outputs 0-3 (ignition 1-4) so I still have some work to do there.

Also, the part that actually sets up the output is not done.....so I guess that's next.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 3:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
mk e wrote:

Also, the part that actually sets up the output is not done.....so I guess that's next.


and now it is so the general switching function is complete.

I guess next up is to setup the PWM option.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 3:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
I planned to do a 2d table controlled PWM option...but 1d seems more useful most of the time...and I can't figure out how to make TS do both in 1 function.

No problem, I can create 2 functions....if I had the flash thing sorted because 2 functions means 2 tables means twice the space.

I think fuel pump, tach, idle control will be special functions and probably only on the pins they're on....if you want it use this pin, if not the pin can have a generic function. It will need to get sorted with Rob as to which pins I guess.

I'm going to do some restructuring in TS and the code to make all this happen but it may not all be available until the flash thing is sorted.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
New plan.

I'm thinking I'll limit the number of optional outs and make just a couple that have tables. That will save space and keep all the user stuff under 32k....and get it done!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 1:11 am
Posts: 54
Mark,

I for one think "get it running" is the way to go. KISS.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 9:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
clcorbin wrote:
Mark,

I for one think "get it running" is the way to go. KISS.


It's been ready to run an engine for 2 years....we just need someone willing. Todate there have been "well, if it had XXXX I could test it" so I add xxxx......and it remains untested. My engine will be ready in the spring......but say summer/fall before I have it sorted enough to plug o5e onto it.....and like everyone else I'll need a couple outputs to run the fuel pump and fan.

But....it's ready to run an engine as is.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 6:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 1:11 am
Posts: 54
What is the most current, most stable, etc fork of o5e? I should probably get that down and start looking at it once more. It looks like I need to add a couple of functions to it before I will be ready to test it on my bike.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 1:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
clcorbin wrote:
What is the most current, most stable, etc fork of o5e? I should probably get that down and start looking at it once more. It looks like I need to add a couple of functions to it before I will be ready to test it on my bike.


Probably "master".....I think I rolled all the working stuff together and pushed it up...wow, that was a year ago at this point! NO wonder I'm having trouble remembering where I left off exactly


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
Now I need to remember what the heck I was doing here.......


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 12:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
Ok, I think I remember where I was with this.

Step 1 - With the 64k flash up and working (should move to the new repository today) I need to go though the ini and put stuff back to the larger size tables....I'm off and running!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 2:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
mk e wrote:
Ok, I think I remember where I was with this.

Step 1 - With the 64k flash up and working (should move to the new repository today) I need to go though the ini and put stuff back to the larger size tables....I'm off and running!


No...step 1 was clear the 2692 ini errors I left :o

now I can go back though the table sizes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 6:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 1:11 am
Posts: 54
mk e wrote:
No...step 1 was clear the 2692 ini errors I left :o

now I can go back though the table sizes.


Missing a single semicolon??? ;)

Hey! What branch is the most current branch?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 7:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
clcorbin wrote:
mk e wrote:
No...step 1 was clear the 2692 ini errors I left :o

now I can go back though the table sizes.


Missing a single semicolon??? ;)

Hey! What branch is the most current branch?


I wish it was that simple! I was messing with how to set bit type variables to 0 on the bits I'm not using and I did a TON of copy and paste.....on a lne that looks to have had an error :oops:

Fix now and I'm moving forward.....on my local branch. and Marcus is on his local branch at the moment. I just added him to the new project so I expect a push from him soon and I'll push what I'm working on once I've tested it (the broken version is up on my branch).

Do you want in on the new repository? If so register on github and pm me your user name so I can add you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 1:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:52 am
Posts: 304
Location: Over here, doing 'over here' things.
Defining macros to represent values that can be masked over things?

I.e.:
#define INJECTOR_1 0b0000000000000001
#define INJECTOR_2 0b0000000000000010
#define INJECTOR_3 0b0000000000000100
#define INJECTOR_4 0b0000000000001000
...
#define COIL_1 0b0000000100000000
#define COIL_2 0b0000001000000000
#define COIL_3 0b0000010000000000
#define COIL_4 0b0000100000000000

So you could then do logic tests and manipulations and such using bitmasks to determine what to do?

_________________
/me goes off to the corner feeling like Jerry Springer with a mullet.

My O5E candidate: 1982 Honda CX500TC motorcycle.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: User Configurable outputs
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 6:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
yes but the real issue is making TS play nice it seems.....it's just not designed for the level of flexibility I want to have so I'm fighting to find a compromise i can live with....I think it's close.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 72 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Theme designed by stylerbb.net © 2008
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]