It is currently Thu Aug 16, 2018 8:05 pm



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Flash re-work
PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
malcom2073 wrote:
This should be helpful:.



Thanks Mike! I didn't have any idea those docs existed!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flash re-work
PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 8:32 pm
Posts: 12
mk e wrote:
Thanks Mike! I didn't have any idea those docs existed!



In typical megasquirt fashion, neither is widely publicized. The pdf is only linked in ONE place that I've ever found, and that's a random forum post on their forums. Not in any docs anywhere :)

I've saved it, you should save it in case it dissapears


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flash re-work
PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
malcom2073 wrote:

I've saved it, you should save it in case it dissapears


Already done :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flash re-work
PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
This issue looks like it might be fairly simple. We ping-pong between 2 flash blocks and Paul pointed out to me that the 2 block we use are 32k.....so changing the page size means we're trying to store more stuff than we have room for and we should pick different blocks.

We'll have a look at fixing this after the user config stuff is working I guess.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flash re-work
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 3:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
I looked at this again today.... surprise surprise, I still have no clue.

I need to find someone smarted to help with this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flash re-work
PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 10:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
mk e wrote:
I looked at this again today.... surprise surprise, I still have no clue.

I need to find someone smarted to help with this.


I got Paul to have a go at the flash code and his came out the same as mine with the same result....a locked processor. :?

Perhaps with adequate begging SeanS will have a look at it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flash re-work
PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 11:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
mk e wrote:

Perhaps with adequate begging SeanS will have a look at it.


I got a commitment from master Sean to at least have a look over the next couple weeks so I'll set this back down while someone competent digs in.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flash re-work
PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2015 12:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
Marcus has the flash working on 64k blocks. Yay! Plus a general cleanup of the flash code.

He should be pushing to the repository today or tomorrow. Onto something else. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flash re-work
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2015 9:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
mk e wrote:
Marcus has the flash working on 64k blocks. Yay! Plus a general cleanup of the flash code.

He should be pushing to the repository today or tomorrow. Onto something else. :)


Its up and available on branch "marcus"

Once I get a chance to test is I'll push it to "development"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flash re-work
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2015 11:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:45 am
Posts: 729
Location: PA, USA
There is more flash cleanup coming soon and then that should be all set.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flash re-work
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2015 5:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 12:04 pm
Posts: 57
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Couple random things you might want to consider:

#1:
blockingFactor = 256 ; max chunk size
this options would limit packet load to whatever you want it to be, 256 in this case. useful in case of huge pages so that it can re-try chunk by chunk if needed

#2:
crc32CheckCommand = "k\x00\x00\x00\x00\x36\xB8"
this optional protocol command validates crc32 sum of a block. it is helpful because if you support this command, TS would not be re-reading the whole page as often. crc32 match would be enough to skip the re-read. It is my understanding that crc32envelope should be sufficient to not need the re-reads, but in fact these are still there in TS 2.6.14

_________________
another open ecu


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Theme designed by stylerbb.net © 2008
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]