It is currently Fri May 25, 2018 3:02 am



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Debugging Help
PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 12:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 1:11 am
Posts: 54
Gents,

So am I completely confusing myself, or are we screwed on debugging via CW? My understanding of the process is that we have to:
1) Load new firmware
2) Connect to board and installed tune (aka: write all those tables)
3) Reboot board
4) Away it goes

But when you go into debug mode, the very first thing it does is reflash the firmware! Is there anyway to get into debug mode AND have the tables properly written (aka: through TS)?

The method I am currently using to try and debug table_lookup is taking about 5 minutes per variable I want to look at. There has GOT to be a better way!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Debugging Help
PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 3:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:52 am
Posts: 304
Location: Over here, doing 'over here' things.
Not a good thing.

Almost seems like the firmware should load data to a shadow location, then copy that to flash if something in flash suggests it hasn't already been loaded.

_________________
/me goes off to the corner feeling like Jerry Springer with a mullet.

My O5E candidate: 1982 Honda CX500TC motorcycle.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Debugging Help
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 1:11 am
Posts: 54
I was actually able to find a way to get this done:

1) Start debugging
2) Reset board once flashing is done
3) type "go" in debugger so board is running full speed (no break points!)
4) Start TS and connect to board (while debugger is ALSO connected)
5) Load tables from TS when it asks you to
6) Reset board
7) Go back to debugger and debug!

I was actually VERY surprised when I found that I COULD connect with TS while the debugger was connected (both using the USB port) as long as the board was running with no break points. The main trick is to simply ignore the debugger while you load the tables and to use the reset button instead of the power connection to reset the board as required.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Theme designed by stylerbb.net © 2008
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]